Revolutionary Grammar Are Overrated

Has the following conversation ever happened to you?

SOMEBODY ELSE: “I don’t think you’re using that word correctly.”

YOU: “Yes I am.”

SOMEBODY ELSE: “No, you’re using it wrong. Look it up.”

YOU: “I don’t have a dictionary.”

SOMEBODY ELSE: “I don’t either.”

YOU: “Want to go grab lunch?”

SOMEBODY ELSE: “No, I already ate earlier.”

YOU: “Want to go see the new movie Zombieland?”

SOMEBODY ELSE: “It looks stupid. Let’s go grab lunch instead.”

YOU: “How about the new burrito/soup fusion restaurant?”

SOMEBODY ELSE: “No.”

No, it’s never happened to me either. But I’m sure it’s happened to somebody. And I bet that someone is a lucky, lucky guy. Unless it’s a woman. And if it IS a woman? Tough luck.

While preparing for my book release last week, which is only 6 revolutionary days away from today, a friend of mine contacted me to inform me that the word “revolutionary” is not a noun. I said “yes it is” and she said “no it’s not.” I checked with Wikipedia.org and Dictionary.com, which both confirmed I was correct; she checked with her editor at work and your mom, which both said I was wrong.

And let’s be honest – I’m not about to disagree with your mom. Anymore.

So who is correct? Do you think “revolutionary” is a noun or a non-noun? In my new book, I use the word “revolutionary” as a noun approximately 23,094,837 times (approximately). If she is correct and I am the-opposite-of-correct, then my book will turn out to be one big mistaken revolutionary waste of time.

Speaking of mistakes, I think a burrito/soup fusion restaurant might just be the best idea I’ve ever come up with.

2 Responses to “Revolutionary Grammar Are Overrated”

  1. I think, technically, ‘revolutionary’ is not a noun. It’s an adjective. But, the noun is understood. When you say that George Washington Carver is a revolutionary, what you mean is that George Washington Carver is a revolutionary peanut inventor. But everyone already knows that George Washington Carver invented peanuts. Or something.

    It’s kind of like when I say to you, “Go to hell!” instead of “YOU go to hell!” Technically incorrect, but still acceptable.

  2. I teach English. I’m going to consider that proof enough that I’m an authority. It’s both an adjective and a noun. As an adjective, it describes things that have to do with revolution (ie revolutionary war). As a noun, it refers to a supporter of a revolution/revolutionary principles or someone struggling for a revolution (it’s used the same way as the word “revolutionist”). You’re both right, but since that friend of yours was trying to prove you wrong and not vice versa, you win the argument, making her wrong. Aren’t you glad I’m your friend?

Leave a Reply

