Meeting David Sedaris is Revolutionary

Fellow revolutionaries:

SedarisDid you meet David Sedaris over the weekend and give him a copy of your book? WELL I DID, SO THERE.

Don’t feel bad that my weekend was better than yours. If it makes you feel better, I’ve never been to Paris, I have seven webbed toes, and I died sometime in the 1970’s from lead poisoning.

So I guess we’re even.

As I mentioned, I met David Sedaris over the weekend and gave him a copy of my book, Revolutions for Fun and Profit!. He came to Salt Lake City and spoke at the Capitol Theatre and was just as funny and charming as you would expect him to be.

After his reading, Sedaris signed books and met fans. I waited in line and when it was my turn, I asked him to sign his book Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim. After he signed it, I then told him that I was a struggling writer myself (not to imply that David Sedaris is also a struggling writer, but, um, hey did someone turn the heat up in here?) and asked him if he would accept a copy of my book.

The following is the actual transcript of my conversation with David Sedaris:

DAVID: “Thank you very much! What is your book about?”

ME: “Um… er…”

DAVID: “Are you going on a book tour?”

ME: “Duh… I… well…”

DAVID: “Who is your publisher?”

ME: “Uh… ah… pbtbtbtbtltltltlt…”

DAVID: “Well good luck with your book!”

Our conversation kind of reminds me of that time when I met Pablo Picasso in the 1920’s as a child and naïvely gave him the childrens’ menu from Denny’s, which I had colored in myself.

One Response to “Meeting David Sedaris is Revolutionary”

  1. […] Fun and Profit! to give to your family. Buy copies of Revolutions for Fun and Profit! to give to David Sedaris, or staff writers for The Onion. You can even buy copies of Revolutions for Fun and Profit! to […]

Leave a Reply

