A Revolutionary Interview with Examiner.com

I was recently interviewed by Nigel Swaby from Examiner.com about using social media to promote my book, Revolutions for Fun and Profit!. Nigel asked me very good questions; unfortunately, I gave very boring answers, I discussed topics that weren’t related to anything, and I confessed to at least four murders that I’m pretty sure I never committed. I was the Sarah Palin to his Katie Couric. Except I wear a different bra size.

So I’ve heard.

Here’s the interview in its entirety. All 13,792 words of it. I ran out of time to break it up into “old testament” and “new testament,” so you’ll have to do that on your own.

“Revolutionary Book Author Uses Social Media”

“Last Fall I had the pleasure of attending a book release party for Salt Lake writer Ryan Shattuck, author of Revolutions for Fun and Profit. This is a humor book with a revolutionary theme. I was impressed with the level of detail he used at his party which included costumes and tearing out pages of the book for people to read.

I had the chance to speak to him about his book and the efforts he’s gone to for promoting it. Here’s the interview.

Tell us a little about your business/book?

It isn’t a ‘business’ as much as it’s a ‘book.’ As this is my first book, I’ve chosen to self-publish it rather than wait for a publisher, which means I am responsible for all the marketing and advertising.

The book is “Revolutions for Fun and Profit!”, a satirical guidebook on how to start a revolution.

Which social media platforms do you use for your business?

I use nearly all of the well-known ones, being Facebook, Twitter, and a blog hosted on WordPress.

What’s the purpose behind your usage? Sales, customer service, community building?

The primary purpose behind my usage is to spread the word about my book, with the end goal of it being sold by more and more bookstores. Like many businesses out there, I would love for my book to go ‘viral,’ but unfortunately trying to predict a viral hit is like catching lightening in a bottle. And as we all know, most bottles are not lightening-proof. I suggest using a rubber-coated box.

How long have you been using social media?

Like many people from my generation, social media is just something we do without even thinking about it. I joined Friendster back in 2003, and MySpace back in 2004 (I believe), so I could probably say that I’ve used social media for nearly 7 years.

What’s your best success story?

The Salt Lake City Weekly is writing a story about my book right now, which should come out next week. I consider that a success.

What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned from social media?

Volume, consistency, and interaction. You have to put a lot of information out there, you have to be consistent, and you HAVE to interact with people.

What would you suggest to a business that’s considering a social media campaign?

Just dive in head first and don’t be afraid to get wet. You’ll make a few mistakes at the beginning, but after awhile you’ll eventually figure out your own groove. I find that most people are very forgiving, and will be patient as you try to figure out your own social media campaign. Just whatever you do, DON’T DISAPPEAR. People may be forgiving, but they have very short attention spans.

Thank you Ryan for answering my questions. I think you’ve provided some very good answers especially about consistency and volume. You can see Ryan in action on Facebook or check out the book’s website for more information.”

Hey sir, wake up. You can’t sleep here.

One Response to “A Revolutionary Interview with Examiner.com”

  1. seobyswaby Says:

    Thanks for answering my questions Ryan. I’m looking forward to your next book?

Leave a Reply

